Quick Tip: Drink Your Greens

I am going to make a startling confession here. Ready? Okay, here goes.

I hate salad.

Yes, you heard right. The woman who calls herself the Wholesome Hedonist can’t stand a leafy green (or a leafy purple, or a leafy white.)

I don’t know what it is about salad. Perhaps it’s my preference for hot, hearty comfort foods, or my dislike of the bland semi-crunch of lettuce.  Whatever the reason, you will always find me far, far away from the salad bar (one notable exception is arugula, which the Italians converted me to by perching it atop a sublime pizza in Rome.)

I know greens are good for you. And I know I should eat them more frequently (and so should you.) So I have found some unique ways to work then into my meals. My best solution? Working them into a smoothie. A cup of spinach is virtually undetectable in smoothies, so I take a few clumps of frozen spinach out of the freezer and throwthem into whatever concoction I’m making, from blueberry banana to mango lassis. (It doesn’t do much for the colour, but at least I can’t taste it.)

What are your tips for sneaking in your greens?

photo credit: SweetOnVeg via photopin cc

Leave a Reply

