Hot and Sour Shrimp Wonton Soup

Friends, I’m sad to say it, but winter is already here. Yesterday, preparing for a crisp fall walk through the leaves, I opened the door and was promptly hit with a blustery chill wind that made my eyes water and my ears freeze. I mean, I know I complained a little this year, but seriously? That’s karma, coming to freeze my little tush off.

Well, I’ve learned my lesson and will complain no more (the above was merely observation, not complaint!) Instead, I will warm up with a pot of this delicious Hot & Sour Soup that I discovered in Alive Magazine. I love this Chinese takeout staple and I doubted that this homemade (and healthy!) version would live up to it, but you know what? It exceeded all my expectations. Warm and filling, it packs a delicious flavour punch. Best of all, it’s a cinch to make!

 

Hot & Sour Shrimp Wonton Soup

Adapted from this recipe.

Notes: 

I ended up thawing out a whole pack of shrimp and making wontons out of all of it, then boiling them and freezing the extras so that I could throw them in soups whenever I am pressed for time. Also, the original recipe specifies wonton wrappers, but I found perogie wrappers were a much more manageable size. 

Ingredients:

5 oz (140 g) raw shrimp, chopped finely
3 Tbsp (45 mL) roughly chopped fresh coriander leaves, divided
2 tsp (10 mL) grated fresh ginger, divided
3 cloves fresh garlic, minced
1 tbsp olive oil
One pack perogie wrappers
1 egg white, lightly beaten
1 small red chili pepper, finely sliced
4 cups (1 L) homemade or low-sodium chicken stock
Juice of two limes
1/2 Tbsp (7 mL) fish sauce
1 Tbsp (15 mL) brown  sugar
1 Tbsp (15 mL) low-sodium soy sauce
3 green onions, finely sliced l (optional)

Directions:

First, combine shrimp  with 1 Tbsp (15 mL) coriander and 1 tsp (5 mL) ginger in a bowl.

Brush one side of each wonton wrapper with egg white. Divide mixture among wrappers, placing in centre of each one. Fold over wrapper, enclosing mixture like a perogie. Press firmly to seal.

Heat olive oil in saucepan. Saute garlic, remaining ginger and chili pepper. Combine  stock,  fish sauce, sugar, soy sauce, and remaining ginger in large pan. Bring to a boil and simmer over medium heat for 2 to 3 minutes. Taste and adjust seasoning as desired. Add wontons and simmer over low heat for about 5 minutes, or until wontons are cooked. Add lime juice.

Pour into warm bowls, add green onions and sprinkle with remaining coriander leaves. Add extra fish sauce and lime juice to taste, if desired.

The recipe specifies that it serves 4, but when A and I had this, we had two steaming bowls each with enough left over for my lunch the next day.

You can find all my dinner soup recipes on my Pinterest board.

Leave a Reply

