My Favourite Things: January

As part of a new series this year, or perhaps because I’ve been watching too many Oprah reruns, I will be presenting to you some of my favourite things each month. Except these are not diamond-encrusted watches or the latest gadgets (I wish.) Instead. they’re the staples of my kitchen; foods that I turn to again and again for their tastiness and versatility.

First up: Corn tortillas.

I know I have mentioned these before, but they really have become indispensible in our house. The delicious corn flavour gives even the simplest meal another dimension and far surpasses the boring wheat tortillas I used to settle for. I use them in countless ways:

– Stuff them with sauteed shrimp, tomatoes, diced pepper and arugula for a taco feast

– Fil them with black beans, cheese, tomatoes and guacamole for quesadillas

– Smother them with hummus and stuff them with grilled eggplant for an inspired lunch

– Spread with cumin-spiked greek yogurt and fill with scrambled eggs, tomatoes and arugula for a fresh take on breakfast

– Bake them in the oven to make your own tortilla chips

Breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks? I told you they were versatie. The best part is, you can buy multiple packs and toss them in the freezer, thawing them as you need them. All for under $2. This is a Favourite Thing everyone can enjoy (just call me the People’s Oprah.)

Leave a Reply

